Sierra Leone Election System

Elections in Sierra Leone are held on a national level to elect the president and the Parliament. An independent Electoral Commission, composed of a chairman and four commissioners, is selected by the president, subject to the approval of Parliament. The commission is responsible for voter registration and elections and referenda. and the registration of both voters and political parties. Both the president and the members of Parliament are elected for five-year terms. The first parliamentary and presidential elections were held in 1924 and 1985 respectively. Other types of elections include Mayor, Chairperson, Local Council and Village Headman.