Parliamentary elections are conducted in 132 constituencies. This is the election in which voters elect candidates to represent them in parliament from 132 constituencies in the country. One member is elected for each constituency based on a “simple majority” or “First Past the Post” system by which the candidate who obtains the highest number of valid votes cast in the constituency is elected for a five-year term. Candidates can contest either on behalf of a registered political party or as an independent candidate for a particular constituency.