Chair/Mayor elections are conducted in 22 localities. These are the elections conducted to choose the 22 Chairs/Mayors of the 22 localities (local councils) into which the Republic of Sierra Leone is divided. The election of Chair/ Mayor will be conducted using a “simple majority” or “First Past the Post” system; meaning that the candidate who obtains the highest number of valid votes cast in the locality is elected. Independent candidates can also contest in these elections. While Chairs are elected for District Councils, Mayors are elected for City Councils and Municipalities.